click to view site navigation menu

Xpace Cultural Centre is a not-for-profit artist-run centre dedicated to providing emerging and student artists, designers, curators and writers with opportunities to showcase their work in a professional setting.

We approach our programming as a form of world-building: providing exhibitions, events, panels and workshops that respond to the direct needs and interests of our communities and membership. Expanding notions of theory and aesthetics, we seek to hold space for thought-provoking and experimental collaborations.

Xpace Cultural Centre is committed to maintaining an anti-oppressive, queer positive environment, prioritizing marginalized, racialized, Black and Indigenous folks.

Xpace is supported by the OCAD Student Union, and our programming is open to students, as well as emerging practitioners of any educational background. Xpace is not affiliated with OCAD University or the OCAD University gallery system.

Toronto Arts Council logo OCAD Student Union

We wish to acknowledge this sacred land on which Xpace Cultural Centre operates. It has been a site of human activity for 15,000 years. The territories include the Huron-Wendat, Anishinabek Nation, the Haudenosaunee Confederacy, the Mississaugas of the Credit First Nations, and the Métis Nation. The territory is the subject of the Dish With One Spoon Wampum Belt Covenant, an agreement between the Iroquois Confederacy and Confederacy of the Ojibwe and allied nations to peaceably share and care for the resources around the Great Lakes. Today, the meeting place of Tkaronto is home to many Indigenous people from across Turtle Island and we are grateful to have the opportunity to work in the community, on this territory.

Staff Title


Avalon Mott (she/her) is a curator, arts administrator and lens based artist originally from Vancouver BC, now calling Toronto home. She graduated with her BFA from Emily Carr University of Art + Design, and is pursuing her MFA in Criticism and Curatorial Practice at OCADU as the recipient of the Presidential Scholarship and Ontario Graduate Scholarship. 

Avalon was a founding member and the co-director of FIELD Contemporary, and has curated for numerous BC institutions. She has also curated public art installations for the City of Richmond, the City of Vancouver, and Capture Photography Festival among others.

Avalon’s curatorial practice is rooted in supporting emerging and under-represented artists, alongside a commitment to bringing accessibility into the gallery space. Her thesis research is rooted in process and studio culture, and how this long standing tradition when brought into the gallery can aid in fostering accessibility and provide the viewer with a sense of agency and a platform for learning.


Philip Ocampo (he/him) is a queer Filipino artist and curator based in Toronto, Canada. Ocampo’s multidisciplinary practice primarily involves sculpture, installation, illustration and public programming. His work usually explores phenomenon, nostalgia, and the reconciling of personal experiences. Ocampo holds a BFA in Digital Painting and Expanded Animation from OCAD U.


Natalie King is a queer interdisciplinary Anishinaabe artist, facilitator and member of Timiskaming First Nation. King's multidisciplinary arts practice includes video, painting, sculpture and installation as well as community engagement, curation and arts administration.

King’s works are about embracing the ambiguity and multiplicities of identity within queer Anishinaabe experience(s). King's practice and facilitation work operates within a firmly future-bound perspective, reclaiming realities of lived lives through frameworks of care and survivance.

King has a BFA from OCAD University and currently lives and makes on the traditional territories of the Huron-Wendat, Anishinabek Nation, the Haudenosaunee Confederacy, the Mississaugas of the Credit First Nations, and the Métis Nation in Tkaronto, Turtle Island.


Our board is composed of current members of the OCAD Student Union: an independent, democratically run student organization with approximately 5000 members, incorporated as a not‐for‐profit corporation

Laiba Malik, Executive Director of Equity & Diversity

Ashwini Gawli, Executive Director of Campaigns & Advocacy

Kalina Nedelcheva, Executive Director of Graduate Studies

Nancy Correia, BIPOC Representative

Asra Khan, Executive Director of Operations

Mehnaz (Mia) Lamia, Executive Director of Academic Affairs

Zachary Bradley


Aamna Muzaffar, Adrienne Crossman, Alicia Nauta, Amanda Amour-Lynx, Amber Landgraff, Anam Ahmed, Andrea Manica Matthew Moreland, Ashley Proctor, Brette Gabel, Cameron Lee, Carmen Cheung, Casey Wong, Chloe Lorenzo, David Caterini, Derek Liddington, Dzeneta Zunic, Edison Osorio, Elija Montgomery, Elise Windsor, Elle McLaughlin, Emily Gove, Enna Kim, Erin Jacobson, Geneviève Wallen, Humboldt Magnussen, Hau Pham, Hwa-Jin Jun, Jacky Challenger, James Cam, Jazmine VK Carr, Jenneen Shortreed, Jennie Suddick, Jessica Cappuccitti, Joanna Labriola, Jonathan Wheeldon, Katie Kotler, Katie McGowan, Laura Baillie, Maddie Alexander, Mary Ma, Matthew Williamson, Maya Wilson-Sanchez, Megan Kotze, Melissa Fisher, Mireille Osbourne, Monica Laflamme, Ngqabutho Zondo, Nicole Rocca, Pablo Munoz, Patric Colosimo, Petar Boscovic, Sara England Melanie Keay, Sarah Butterill, Serena Lee, Solskin Brask, Stephanie Fielding, Stephanie Rosinski, Stephanie Simmons, Tomas del Baso, Vladimir Milosevic